Bundelkhand Expressway – Route Map and Essential Features

Bundelkhand expressway route map

On July 16th, Prime Minister Narendra Modi will inaugurate the 296 km-long Bundelkhand Expressway in Uttar Pradesh. Bundelkhand Expressway route map is designed in such a way that it will first cover seven districts and then it will merge into the Lucknow-Delhi expressway or the Yamuna Expressway. The expressway has been completed eight months ahead of schedule. This expressway will stretch between Chitrakoot and Etawah. Prime Minister has said that this project will create thousands of jobs and connect ordinary people with facilities only available in bigger cities.

UP has become the first state in the country to have 13 expressways. Six of the 13 expressways spanning 3,200 km are operational, while work is on in seven. Industrial corridors are being built along highways and expressways. Airstrips are coming up for emergency use by the air force.

Essential Features of Bundelkhand Expressway Route Map

  • The total cost of this project is Rs 14,850 crores, but the Yogi Adityanath government has saved Rs1,132 crores by opting for e-tendering in the tender process.

  • The expressway will cover seven districts, which are Chitrakoot, Banda, Mahoba, Hamirpur, Jalaun, Auraiya, and Etawah and the road length has many river crossings that will provide an excellent view of rivers Bagen, Ken, Shyama, Chandawal, Birma, Yamuna, Betwa and Sengar.

  • The current lane structure of the expressway is four lanes, but in the future, the UPEIDA has said that they will expand this expressway into a six-lane expressway. The expressway has 13 interchange points also.

  • The expressway will include 18 significant and 286 minor bridges. It will also contain four rail bridges. There will be nine flyovers and 224 underpasses for effective ride quality.

  • Apart from all this, 7 lakh trees will be planted alongside the expressway to reduce the damage caused by the construction of this expressway to nature.

  • This expressway will reduce travel time between Delhi and Chitrakoot to just six hours from 9-10 hours earlier.


The Bundelkhand expressway project will directly connect Bundelkhand, also known to be one of the country’s most backward areas, to the national capital through the Agra-Lucknow expressway and Yamuna expressway. This will allow the common person to access the facilities only available in bigger cities. This will also boost economic activity in the area. You can read more about the Bundelkhand expressway here on UPEIDA Official website

Try Onsite, #1 Tool For Site Tracking 

shikhar shukla
shikhar shukla
Articles: 325

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *